Children's Book Awards Committee

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

The Children's Book Award Committee's duties pertain to children's and young adult authors and illustrators exclusively. The Committee provides additions to the list of Notable Wisconsin Authors/Illustrators and the biographical information which accompanies them; selects the recipient of the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award; constructs an annual list of publications for children and young adults created by Wisconsin authors and illustrators which were published during the previous year, and annually selects a maximum of ten books to receive Outstanding Achievement recognition.

Criteria for the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award and the Outstanding Achievement titles include:  

(1) publication in the year preceding the year of presentation (submission deadline April 15);

(2) recognition of a single work, not for the body of an author’s/illustrator’s work; and

(3) the work must be written or illustrated by a person who was born in Wisconsin, or is currently living in Wisconsin, or who lived in Wisconsin for a significant length of time. 

The Committee is made up of seven members appointed for two-year terms (three terms expiring in one year, four in the next) by the Appointments Committee with recommendations from the Chair of the Youth Services Section. 

Chair: Karli Pederson, Milwaukee Public Library (

  • Kent Barnard
  • Abby Bussen
  • Judy Jones
  • Lynn Montague
  • Brooke Newberry
  • Krissy Wick (Chair-Elect)

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation