2018 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame Inductees

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, October 02, 2018 in Events and Promotions

Madison, Wisconsin – Oct. 2, 2018 – The steering committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected three individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame (WLHF) in 2018. 

The inductees include: 

Lucy Smith Morris2Lucy Smith Morris (1850-1935). A native of Berlin, Wisconsin, and a contemporary and colleague of Lutie Stearns, a 2008 charter member of the Hall of Fame, Lucy Morris advocated for the development of public libraries in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. In her leadership role in the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs, she oversaw the establishment of more than 100 public libraries during the group's first year of operation. She was among the first group of appointments to the Wisconsin Free Library Commission and served as Wisconsin Library Association president in 1899-1900. 

Jo Ann Carr, Director Emerita, UW-Madison School of Education CIDC/IMDC, praised Morris as someone who "should be extolled as Wisconsin's own Andrew Carnegie. Mrs. Morris realized a library is more than a building–it is a symbol of community, a source of culture, and a vital element in the social and intellectual life of all communities.” 

Adams HelenHelen Adams has been an educator and librarian for more than 50 years, the majority of them as a school librarian for the Rosholt (Wisconsin) School District. She served in a number of leadership roles in the American Association of School Librarians (Treasurer, 1993-96; President, 1999-2000), Freedom to Read Foundation, Wisconsin Library Association, and Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association (Secretary, 1986-1990; President, 1996-98. She is the recipient of numerous honors, including a Special Services Award (1986) and an Award of Excellence (1994) from the Wisconsin Education Media Association. Helen currently resides in Fremont, Wisconsin. 

Dianne McAfee Hopkins, 2016 Library Hall of Fame inductee, Professor
Emerita, UW-Madison School of Library and Information Studies (SLIS), praised Helen Adams as "an outstanding mentor and leader. She has been a dedicated intellectual freedom and privacy advocate throughout her distinguished career. Helen has fulfilled the promise of Beta Phi Mu, which, by inducting her nearly 50 years ago, recognized her scholastic achievement and leadership potential."

bob bocherBob Bocher is the Library Technology Consultant for the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction's Division for Libraries and Technology. Bob Bocher dedicated his career to the use of technology to improve library service to the public, emerging as a state and national leader in this field. He championed resource sharing throughout the state and provided his expertise during a proliferation of shared integrated library systems, which helped to make Wisconsin number one nationally in public library resource sharing per capita. Bob received the Wisconsin Library Association Special Services Award in 2010.

Bob worked extensively with the American Library Association's Office for Information Technology, serving on the E-rate Task Force, advisory committee, and serving as the first chair of the Telecommunications Subcommittee. Beyond ALA, he currently serves on the Universal Service Administrative Company Board of Directors. He currently resides in Monona, Wisconsin. 

Steve Platteter, Director, Arrowhead Library System, Milton, WI, observes: "Bob Bocher actually gave a true and sincere meaning to the old cynical, bureaucratic line, "I'm from the State, and I'm here to help."

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame was created by the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Board as part of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center at its July 16, 2008 meeting. The WLHF includes both librarians and library supporters.



Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, October 20, 2019