WLA 2017 Awards: Now Accepting Applications!

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, August 29, 2017 in Events and Promotions


Application Deadline Extended for All Awards…due September 15


Honor the innovative and exceptional library services, staff, trustees, and supporters in Wisconsin. Nominate an individual, group, or library for one of the 2017 WLA Awards with the new streamlined application process.


Please visit the WLA Awards & Honors website for a list of awards or see the list below. The criteria, application form, and instructions to apply are listed under each individual award on WLA's web site. Winners will be honored at the WLA Conference during the Awards and Honors Reception.


Questions? Contact Kristen Anderson, Awards and Honors Committee Chair, 


WLA 2017 Awards

Citation of Merit
Conferred upon Wisconsin citizens who are neither librarians nor library trustees, who have made outstanding contributions to quality library services. This award may be given to a group of people or an individual.

Library of the Year Award
Presented to any type of Wisconsin library, library system or library network for distinguished achievement in service. The staff, library board or administering body, and the community or people served shall all be involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

The Muriel Fuller Award
Conferred upon a library professional or paraprofessional in recognition of outstanding accomplishments which have significantly improved and benefited library services.

Programming Innovation Award
Presented in recognition of programming leadership in providing innovative and excellent library programming in Wisconsin libraries. Nominated programs may be stand-alone programs, series, passive or cooperative. Programs for all age groups are eligible.

Special Service Award
Presented to a group of people or an individual for noteworthy achievement as evidenced by substantial activities and exceptional service to the library profession. The Wisconsin recipient or recipients shall have influence and reputation beyond the local community.

Trustee of the Year Award
Conferred upon an outstanding Wisconsin library trustee. The trustee must be in actual service during all or part of the year in which he or she is honored.

WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year Award
In recognition of a librarian's outstanding leadership and accomplishment in library service. The librarian must be currently employed, at the time of selection, in any field of librarianship in Wisconsin and must be a current member of the WLA. 


Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, February 18, 2019