2016 WLA Awards & Honors Selection

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 in Awards

The Wisconsin Library Association is pleased to announce the 2016 library award winners, selected for their outstanding contributions to libraries and librarianship:

Trustee of the Year:  Geraldine Anderson, Dresser Village Library

Library of the Year:  Schreiner Memorial Library, Lancaster

Librarian of the Year:  Elizabeth Timmins, Muehl Public Library, Seymour

Trustee of the Year:  Geraldine Anderson, Dresser Village Library

Geraldine Anderson has served on the Dresser Village Library Board for over 30 years, serving as president, board member and also library volunteer.    As one of her nomination letters describes, “She is a forward thinker and a highly dedicated individual who knows how to build relationships and make things happen.  She has played an active role in fundraising for the summer library program and always made it clear that she was only a phone call away if her support was needed at a Village Board meeting.”  As is stated in her nomination, the Dresser library is her legacy.   In honor of this remarkable tenure and dedication to library service in Dresser, Geraldine Anderson is the 2016 WLA Trustee of the Year. 

Library of the Year:  Schreiner Memorial Library

From a small seed a mighty trunk may grow.  (Aeschylus)  Though there is no doubt the Schreiner Memorial Library in Lancaster is a small library, there are some mighty things happening there.  With a population of 3,200, this library has raised over $3.1 million of its total building cost of $3.6 million – that’s remarkable fundraising for such a small population, especially with only three donations exceeding $50,000.  In addition to excellent fundraising, this library also provides some innovative programming including a partnership with the Grant County WIC clinic, offering clinic space in the library once a month for services to low income families.  Spreading their information reach far and wide, the library provides free WIFI to the entire city block it sits on as well as providing programming outside on its Performance Plaza.  According to Director, Jennifer Bernetzke, “The outdoor Performance Plaza brings another element of value to our community.  We can host community bands, outdoor movies, music festivals, and countless other things.  The Performance Plaza has brought visitors from across Wisconsin and even from out of state to see our City and our library.”  The WLA Awards committee is pleased to give this small library the great honor of being the 2016 WLA Library of the Year!

Librarian of the Year:  Elizabeth Timmins, Muehl Public Library, Seymour

Elizabeth Timmins is the 2016 WLA/Demco Librarian of the Year.  Elizabeth has greatly exceeded all expectations when she was hired as the director of the Muehl Public Library 13 years ago, according to a board member who was on the hiring committee then and nominated her for this award.  As just one example of how Elizabeth both pitches in at every level of community work, but also brings the library to center stage, her nomination notes that she not only serves on the BurgerFest Committee, helps at the concession stand, takes prizes at the parade, but she also holds an orientation at the library for the concession workers.  Elizabeth’s nomination stated, “Her enthusiasm exudes from her as she enters any room.”  The WLA Awards Committee echoes that enthusiasm and is honored to recognize Elizabeth Timmins as the 2016 WLA Librarian of the Year!

The Wisconsin Library Association congratulates each winner and will celebrate their accomplishments at the 2016 Annual Conference at the Potawatomi Hotel & Casino in Milwaukee.  An Awards & Honors Reception will take place on Thursday, October 27 at 5:30 p.m., with hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar.

The WLA Awards program is supported by the WLA Foundation, through individual charitable contributions, and through the generous support of EBSCO.  WLA engages, inspires and advocates for library workers and supporters to improve and promote library services for the people of Wisconsin.  The awards program is one way the association acknowledges the dedication of its members to provide exemplary library service to the people of Wisconsin.

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, July 18, 2018