Wisconsin Library Association Announces 2016 Literary Award Winners

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Thursday, June 30, 2016 in Awards

Lynsey Addario Wins Prestigious Literary Prize for
It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War 

Madison, Wisconsin – June 28, 2016 – The Literary Awards Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) is pleased to announce the 2016 Literary Award winner: Lynsey Addario for: It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War. This is the highest literary achievement by a Wisconsin author for a work written in 2015. 

“We couldn’t be more proud of Lynsey Addario’s achievement,” said Plumer Lovelace, Executive Director for WLA. “There were many excellent books from Wisconsin writers this year, but her efforts were impressive.”

Lynsey Addario, a 1995 graduate of UW-Madison, has written a book that is gripping, enlightening and (surprisingly, considering her unique experiences) relatable. This work of literary non-fiction offers many thrilling tales, addressing the risks and nomadic lifestyle inherent to a combat photographer’s career. Readers will gain a deeper appreciation of how photographers capture images that tell stories without words. This book is recommended to anyone searching for a riveting read, one that challenges our views of other cultures, offers compelling war reporting and inspires with a story of overcoming great obstacles to further one’s life passion. 

The Literary Awards Committee also selected ten books by Wisconsin authors for Outstanding Achievement. These titles, all published in 2015, are:

  • Washing the Dead by Michelle Brafman
  • Beneath the Bonfire by Nickolas Butler
  • The Crops Look Good by Sara DeLuca
  • A Winsome Murder by James Devita
  • Days of Awe by Lauren Fox
  • Meet Me Halfway by Jennifer Morales
  • A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell
  • The Dead Lands by Benjamin Percy
  • The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson
  • The Mysteries of Soldiers Grove by Paul Zimmer

Additionally, the Committee recognized three works of Outstanding Poetry.  These titles are:

  • We Were the People Who Moved by David Ebenbach
  • Nectar of Story by Tim Myers
  • An Ink Like Early Twilight by Andrea Potos

Lastly, the Literary Awards Committee chose three authors to designate as Notable Wisconsin Authors this year.  This award recognizes an author’s entire body of work and is designed to promote greater awareness of the state’s literary heritage.  This year’s Notable Authors are:

  • Kathleen Ernst
  • Wil Denson
  • Dennis McCann

The 2016 Literary Awards Committee members are librarians and trustees from around the state.  For more information about the Literary Awards, visit http://wla.wisconsinlibraries.org/read/awards

The Wisconsin Library Association engages, inspires and advocates for library workers and supporters to improve and promote library services for the people of Wisconsin.


Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, September 26, 2018