WLA Announces 2016 “Library Champion” Legislators

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 in Events and Promotions

Eight members of the Wisconsin Legislature were honored by the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) as 2016 Library Champions on February 9.

WLA Library Champions are selected for demonstrating significant legislative support to benefit Wisconsin libraries. Award recipients included Representative Mary Czaja; Senator Sheila Harsdorf; Representative Cody Horlacher; Representative Amy Loudenbeck; Senator Stephen Nass; Senator Fred Risser; Senator Jennifer Shilling and Representative Nancy VanderMeer.
The award presentation was part of annual WLA Library Legislative Day activities which this year included observance of the association’s 125th anniversary. WLA’s organizational meeting was held in the State Capitol on February 11, 1891.

“Inaugurating WLA’s 125th anniversary on Library Legislative Day at the State Capitol offered a wonderful opportunity to recognize those who are carrying on a strong tradition of legislative support for Wisconsin libraries,” said WLA Executive Director Plumer Lovelace. “Each of our Library Champions has been instrumental in the past year in helping to create solutions to keep our libraries functioning smoothly and effectively.”

During a commemorative program in the Capitol Rotunda, Lieutenant Governor Rebecca Kleefisch presented a proclamation from Governor Scott Walker declaring February 11, 2016 as “Wisconsin Library Association Day.” The Lieutenant Governor was joined by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers and more than 200 WLA members and guests from around Wisconsin.

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, February 18, 2020