Bird, written by Crystal Chan, wins 2015 Burr/Worzalla Award

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, June 09, 2015 in Awards

Children’s novel Bird, written by Crystal Chan and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers, has won the 2015 Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award. The Children’s Book Award Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association’s Youth Services Section annually awards the Burr/Worzalla to the most distinguished work in literature written and/or illustrated by a Wisconsin book creator.

Entrenched secrets, mysterious spirits and an astonishing friendship weave together in this extraordinary and haunting debut. Nothing matters. Only Bird matters. And he flew away.

Jewel never knew her brother, Bird, but all her life she has lived in his shadow. Her parents blame Grandpa for the tragedy of their family’s past; they say that Grandpa attracted a malevolent spirit—a duppy—into their home. Grandpa hasn’t spoken a word since. Now Jewel is twelve, and she lives in a house full of secrets and impenetrable silence. (Book Description)

The Children’s Book Award Committee also named Ann Bausum as Notable Author for her contribution to the world of children’s literature.

Five noteworthy titles have also been selected for Outstanding Achievement in children’s literature, written and/or illustrated by Wisconsin Book creators:

                Stubby the War Dog: The True Story of World War I's Bravest Dog, written by Ann Bausum

                The Hula Hoopin’ Queen written by Thelma Lynne Godin

                This is a Moose illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld

                Kate Walden Directs: Night of the Zombie Chickens written by Julie Mata

                Here Comes the Easter Cat written by Deborah Underwood

The Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award is made possible by the Worzalla Publishing Company, Stevens Point, through a grant to the WLA Foundation.

The 2015 Children’s Book Award Committee members include Jeni Schomber, Chair (Beloit), Karli Pederson (Milwaukee), Julie Harrison (Verona), Krissy Wick (Madison), Rachel Cornelius (Wausau), Brooke Newberry (La Crosse), Judy Jones (Grafton).

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, December 12, 2018