The Year of Billy Miller by Kevin Henkes Wins 2014 Burr/Worzalla Award

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, July 22, 2014 in Awards

Children’s beginning chapter book, The Year of Billy Miller, written by Wisconsin native Kevin Henkes and published by Greenwillow Books, has won the 2014 Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award. The Children’s Book Award Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association’s Youth Services Section annually awards the Burr/Worzalla to the most distinguished work in literature for children written and/or illustrated by a Wisconsin book creator. 

In The Year of Billy Miller, Billy is entering second grade and he is a bit anxious about what that year may bring. His dad reassures Billy that this is his year. We follow Billy’s relationships from his teacher, to his father, sister and ending with his mother, and as we watch their interactions we see Billy’s character grow. Kevin Henkes does a fabulous job of portraying the life of a second grader, and all the concerns, thoughts and feelings that come with it. A funny and enjoyable read for beginning chapter book readers, reluctant readers and a great family read-aloud. 

The Children’s Book Award Committee also named Avi, Notable Wisconsin Author/Illustrator for his remarkable contribution to the world of children’s literature. Avi is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison. 

Six noteworthy titles have also been selected for Outstanding Achievement in Children’s Literature, written and/or illustrated by Wisconsin book creators:

The Sin-Eater’s Confession by Ilsa J. Bick
I’m With Stupid by Geoff Herbach
Exclamation Mark illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld
Sophie’s Squash by Pat Zietlow Miller
One Came Home by Amy Timberlake
Poison by Bridget Zinn

The Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award is made possible by the Worzalla Publishing Company, Stevens Point, through a grant to the WLA Foundation.

The 2014 Children’s Book Award Committee members consist of Jeni Schomber, Chair, Beloit Public Library; Jennifer Bahnaman, McMillan Memorial Library (Wis. Rapids);  Jean Elvekrog, Waunakee Public Library; Karli Pederson, Milwaukee Public Library; Julie Harrison, Verona Public Library; Krissy Wick, Madison Public Library; Rachel Cornelius, Sparta Free Library.

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, January 25, 2020