Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Application

Posted by Brigitte Rupp Vacha on Tuesday, November 12, 2013 in American Library Association (ALA)
Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Application
Application deadline: December 20, 2013
The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is presented annually in honor of Shirley Olofson, a well-respected former NMRT President, who died during her term in office. The award, which is intended to help defray costs to attend the ALA Annual Conference, will be presented in the form of a check for $1,000 during the 2014 Annual Conference in Las Vegas, NV. The winner will be chosen in January before the ALA Midwinter Meeting. All applicants will be notified in March.
Applicants must be members of ALA and NMRT, participate actively in the library profession, show promise or activity in the area of professional development, have valid financial need, and have not attended more than five ALA annual conferences.
Fill out the application form at Include a current resume that lists educational background and degrees, library positions you've held, activity in ALA , NMRT , or other ALA groups, activity in other library associations, and participation in scholarly activity.
Write a short essay or paragraph that explains the reasons you are applying for this award. Address your financial need. (Specify what expenses are funded by your employer or other resources, e.g. registration, travel, lodging, and meals, etc. and what expenses you pay on your own.)
If you do not receive an email acknowledgment within two business days after submitting this application form, please send an email to Michael Mungin at
Applicants will be notified of incomplete applications.
Tags: ALA


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, January 23, 2020