WLA and UW-Milwaukee SOIS Partner to Provide Educational Opportunities for Paralibrarians

Posted by Lisa Strand on Monday, November 05, 2012 in Awards

The Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) Paralibrarian of the Year Award recognizes the essential role of paralibrarians, including all library support staff who do not currently have an MLIS, in providing excellent library service in Wisconsin.  This award places special emphasis on efforts to further the role of paralibrarians and library support staff in the library profession.

The WLA Paralibrarian of the Year award winner will be selected by the WLA Support Staff and Circulation Services (SSCS) Section Board of Directors and the criteria are as follows:

  • Excellence in job performance, including contribution(s) enabling their library to best serve its patrons and/or its community (whether public, college/university, school, corporation, etc.)
  • The encouragement of reading and the use of the library's resources
  • A commitment to free access to information for all
  • The candidate's work to build networks, organizations, and/or groups to support excellence in library work and new career paths for library support staff
  • The candidate’s efforts to improve communication and the breaking down of barriers between support staff and the MLIS librarians with whom they work.

The award winner will be profiled in the WLA Support Staff and Circulation Services Section’s (SSCS) Support Lines, newsletter and UWM SOIS’s Inside SOIS publication.  The winner will also be recognized at the annual WLA Conference Awards Ceremony, for which they will receive complimentary dinner for themselves and a guest.

In addition, the award winner will have the opportunity to receive an optional scholarship to complete either a bachelor’s of science or master’s degree in the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee (UWM) School of Information Studies (SOIS).  UWM SOIS offers a bachelor’s of science degree in Information Science and Technology, and an ALA accredited Master of Library and Information Science degree.  Both degrees can be completed online, onsite, or in a hybrid format.

Award winners who choose to accept this scholarship will have one year from the time they are awarded to apply to UWM SOIS and enroll in classes.  Tuition will continue to be fully funded as long as the award winner remains in good academic standing and is making adequate progress toward the degree.  Award winners will be responsible for meeting all UWM SOIS admission and graduation requirements as defined by the UWM and SOIS websites.  Award winners may be able to transfer previous college level credits from other institutions, and should visit the UWM and SOIS websites for more information.

Nomination letters must name the candidate and describe in 500 words or less why the nominee deserves the award.  Nomination letters should be submitted with a completed nomination form, including contact information for both the nominator and the nominee.

Nominations may be emailed as pdf files to wla@wisconsinlibraries.org or sent through regular mail to:
Wisconsin Library Association
Attn: Paralibrarian of the Year Award
4610 Biltmore Lane #100
Madison, WI 53718

Tags: campaign


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, August 17, 2018