• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 48

Vote in Today's Primary Election

Posted by on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 in State Legislation/Initiatives

For the first time since the 1940's, Wisconsin's partisan primary election is being held in August and not in September.  This report provides a brief overview of the key races to be decided today.  Don't forget to cast your ballot!
In addition to choosing the Republican nominee for the United States Senate (to succeed Sen. Herb Kohl), voters will choose the Democratic nominee for the US House of Representatives in the 2nd Congressional District (Rep. Tammy Baldwin's open seat) and decide if US Rep. Tom Petri (6th Congressional District) will receive the Republican nomination for another term in office.
The four Republican candidates for the US Senate are former Governor Tommy Thompson, former US Rep. Mark Neumann, Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald, and political newcomer Eric Hovde.  While there are four Democrats running in the 2nd Congressional District only State Reps. Mark Pocan and Kelda Helen Roys (both of Madison) have run vigorous campaigns.
There are also two State Senate seats with incumbents facing primary elections, although one of them is currently a member of the Assembly running for an open seat.  In the 6th Senate District in the City of Milwaukee, Rep. Elizabeth Coggs  is seeking to become the Democratic candidate to succeed her cousin, Sen. Spencer Coggs, who was elected Milwaukee County Treasurer earlier this year.  In the 14th Senate District, Sen. Luther Olsen (R-Ripon) is facing a primary challenge as well.
In the Assembly, 14 members face primary elections -- five Republicans and nine Democrats.  They are:
  AD-3:  Rep. Al Ott (R-Forest Junction)
  AD-7:  Rep. Peggy Krusick (D-Milwaukee)
  AD-8:  Rep. JoCasta Zamarripa (D-Milwaukee)
  AD-9:  Rep. Josh Zepnick (D-Milwaukee)
  AD-10:  Rep. Sandy Pasch (D-Whitefish Bay)
  AD-11:  Rep. Jason Fields (D-Milwaukee)
  AD-12:  Rep. Fred Kessler (D-Milwaukee)
  AD-22:  Rep. Don Pridemore (R-Hartford)
  AD-26:  Rep. Mike Endsley (R-Sheboygan)
  AD-45:  Rep. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville)
  AD-49:  Rep. Travis Tranel (R-Cuba City)
  AD-55:  Rep. Dean Kaufert (R-Neenah)
  AD-78:  Rep. Brett Hulsey (D-Madison)
  AD-80:  Rep. Sondy Pope-Roberts (D-Cross Plains)
Be sure to vote today!

Tony Driessen, Attorney (Dewitt Ross & Stevens SC, Madison) and WLA Lobbyist; Terry Dawson, Chair, WLA Library Development & Legislation Committee

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 19, 2019