WLA Awards Announced: Celebrating Excellence in Library Service

Posted by Lisa Strand on Tuesday, June 30, 2009 in WLA Blog Archive

The Wisconsin Library Association is pleased to announce this year’s library luminaries, selected as outstanding for their contribution to libraries and librarianship:

Library of the Year
UW-Sheboygan University Library
A new, state-of-the-art facility and a staff that have spent the last decade systematically building and enhancing progressive library services make this academic library a winner.

DEMCO/Librarian of the Year
Kathryn (Katie) Hanson, director, Graham Public Library
Union Grove
Library service improvements through technology, an expansion project and Katie Hanson’s personal touch have made the Graham Public Library a treasure in the community. WLA’s DEMCO Librarian of the Year will help Union Grove celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Graham Public Library this year.

Muriel Fuller Award
Darla Jean Kraus, director, Lakeview Community Library
Random Lake
Darla Jean Kraus is this year’s Muriel Fuller winner, recognizing her tireless advocacy for the Lakeview Community Library, from fundraising, management of remodeling and expansion projects, to increasing programming and collaboration with other community organizations.

WLA Highsmith Award
Ruff Readers Program – Racine Public Library
One of the first programs of its kind offered in the state, Ruff Readers gives the children of Racine an opportunity to practice their reading skills with non-judgmental listeners – certified therapy dogs that visit the library with their handlers.

Special Service Award
Chelsea Couillard, Christina Johnson, Catherine Phan
UW-Madison School of Library and Information Services
Conducted when all three were students at the UW-Madison School of Library and Information Studies, a Community Needs Assessment for the Red Cliff Tribal Library resulted in the restoration of some tribal library service, threatened by a lack of funding and other challenges.

Citation of Merit
Mead-Witter Foundation, Inc.
Wisconsin Rapids
The Foundation awarded noncompetitive grants totaling $382,000 to selected public libraries in central and northern Wisconsin for a variety of public use materials and equipment or programs. The Foundation has now given a total of $1,206,000 through grants that have provided libraries and their patrons innumerable benefits.

View more details about the award winners.

WLA congratulates these stellar winners and will celebrate their accomplishments at an Awards & Honors Banquet at this year’s WLA Conference in Appleton at the Radisson Paper Valley. The banquet will be held Thursday, October 22, 7:00-9:00 p.m.

WLA will present these award winners with a proclamation and plaque detailing their accomplishments. In addition to contributions from DEMCO and Highsmith, the WLA Awards program is supported by the WLA Foundation, through individual charitable contributions.
Comment disabled by author.