WISL Scholarship Due Aug. 1, 2016

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

WISL WLA Conference Scholarship

Application Form
   2017 Scholarship has been awarded.

Email the completed application to Jackie Rammer @

Photo Gallery

AddThis Social Bookmark Button


karyntraveling libraries


AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Spring 2018

Fall 2017

Spring 2017

Spring 2016

Fall 2016

Spring 2016

Spring 2015

Winter 2014

Summer/Fall 2014

Spring 2014

Fall 2013
Spring 2013

Fall 2012
Spring 2012

Fall 2011
Spring 2011
Fall 2010
Spring 2010
Fall 2008
Spring 2008 
Spring 2007
Spring 2006 

If you have an item for WHISTLESTOP, please contact Jennifer Friedman, Newsletter Editor

WISL WLA Conference Scholarship

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Application Form


2017 Recipient:  Angela Badzislaw, Spooner Memorial Library

2016 Recipients:
Amy Stormberg, Director of Shell Lake Public Library
Nancy Sandleback, Director of Holy Wisdom Monestary Library, Middleton

2015 Recipients:
Rebecca Pfile, Director of Endeavor Public Library
Allison (Alli) Chase, of Alice Baker Library

2014 Recipients:
Gina Rae, Wilton Public Library
Julie Beloungy, Thorp Public Library

2013 Recipients
Andrea Klapper, Montello Public Library
Amanda Burns, Suring Area Public Library  

2012 Recipients
Marie Marquardt and Diane Wald, Alma Public Library

2011 Recipient
Judy Grant, Trempealeau, received both $150 scholarships! 
The purpose of this scholarship is to promote attendance at the Wisconsin Library Association Annual Conference. This scholarship is available to librarians who meet the following criteria:
  • Employed by a Wisconsin library or information agency with 4 FTE or less or have a service population of under 6000 people (Grade II or Grade III Certification)
  • Must be willing to communicate knowledge gained, especially how this knowledge can be applied to small libraries, and to fellow WISL members.
  • Must be a member of the Wisconsin Small Libraries Section at the time of application.
Applicants will be evaluated based on:
  • Need and desire for scholarship
  • Small and rural library leadership potential
  • Previous conference attendance opportunities (Previous attendee at the WLA conference or scholarship recipients are encouraged to re-apply)
Applications will be evaluated by a committee of the Wisconsin Small Libraries Section Board.

Scholarship options:
$400 Scholarship for lodging, registration, meals and mileage
  (may be divided into two $200 awards if the full award is not needed.)
Scholarship recipients will be expected to:
  • Attend entire conference for which the scholarship has been awarded.
  • Submit newsletter article to Whistlestop (WISL newsletter), sharing what has been learned gained from conference.
  • Attend a combination of at least 2 WISL meetings/programs while at the conference.

WISL Leaders/Minutes

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

WISL  Procedures

2018 WISL Officers, Terms and Job Descriptions

Chair – Amanda Hegge
Whitehall Public Library, Whitehall

(2018) Prepare budget (Aug.Sept.)
Prepare goals (Oct. Nov)
Chair meetings ( Feb., WAPL, Jul., WLA.)
Attend WLA Leadership meeting.
Report new Board members to WLA (including WLA/liaisons)

Chair Elect – Kent Barnard
Patterson Memorial Library, Wild Rose

(2018) Serve on Nominating Committee (June)
Serve on Scholarship Committee (Aug)
Attend WLA Leadership Meeting.

Past Chair – Jacqueline Rammer
Lakeview Community Library, Random Lake

(2018) Chair of Nominating Committee (June)
Sample Policy Coordinator

Liaison to WLA Board - Teresa Schmidt
Mercer Public Library, Mercer

(3 yrs - 2017-2019) Attend WLA board meetings to share information from and to WISL

Secretary – Jamie Hein 
Clintonville Public Library, Clintonville

(2018-2019) Serve on nominating committee (June)
Take minutes of meetings.
Update WISL Web page on WLA server

3rd Year Director – Gina Rae
Wilton Public Library, Wilton

Plan programs for WLA fall conference (including arranging for WISL meeting and booth).

2nd Year Director – Amy Stormberg
Amery Area Public Library, Amery

Plan programs for WAPL Spring conf. (including arranging for WISL mtg.)

1st Year Director – Angie Bodzislaw
Spooner Memorial Library, Spooner

Serve on WISL Scholarship Committee

Newsletter Editor - Jennifer Friedman

Publish at least two newsletters via PDF for posting to web page




we want you

We Want YOU for the WISL Board!

Board members must be a member of WLA and WISL, and work in or are retired from a small library.

Some WISL board positions are elected and some are not.

A Chair-elect is voted on, then automatically moves up to Chair and then Past Chair.

A 1st Year Director is voted on, then moves up to 2nd, then 3rd Year Director.

The positions of Secretary (2 year term) and WLA Liason are elected (3 year term).

Newsletter Editor is a volunteer position.

Positions are handed over in January each year. Read our Procedures.

More Articles...

  1. Wisconsin Small Libraries