2013 Literary Awards

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2013 Wisconsin Library Association Literary Award

Librarians Honor Eliot Treichel for ‘Close is Fine : Stories’

The Wisconsin Library Association has chosen Close is Fine: Stories by Eliot Treichel, who grew up in the Fox River Valley and now lives in Eugene, OR, as the winner of the 2013 Wisconsin Library Association Literary Award, given for the highest literary achievement by a Wisconsin author for a book published in 2012.

Close is Fine is a collection of stories set in small-town Wisconsin. If you’ve spent time in rural Wisconsin (or rural anywhere in the US) then you’ve met the people he writes about. The writing is honest and pulls no punches and Treichel’s ability to put you into the lives of his characters is powerful.

“At times tragic and others morbidly funny, Close is Fine is a revelation on every page,” said Jane Jorgenson, Chair of the Literary Awards Committee. “He captures with humor and grace the people who inhabit the smallest of towns and the most run-down of farms. As I read, all I could think is I know these people.”

The Wisconsin Library Association Literary Award is made possible by a grant from the WLA Foundation.

Also recognized this year are Edgar Wilson Nye, Frederick Holmes and John Koethe as 2013 Notable Authors for their bodies of work. Edgar (Bill) Nye was a humorist who wrote in the second half of the nineteenth century. Frederick (Fred) Holmes wrote about Wisconsin people and places in the 1940s and his books are still popular today. John Koethe is a poet and retired professor of philosophy who was picked this year both for this honor of Wisconsin Notable, but was also awarded Outstanding Achievement for his poetry collection in ROTC Kills.

The 2013 Outstanding Achievement awards for 2012 publications include the following 10 titles by Wisconsin authors:

  • ●Ayad Akhtar (Milwaukee) - American Dervish
  • ●Nathan Englander (Madison) - What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank
  • ●Peter Levine (Madison) - The Appearance of a Hero
  • ●David Maraniss (Madison) - Barack Obama: The Story
  • ●David McGlynn (Appleton) - A Door in the Ocean
  • ●Michael Perry (New Auburn) - Visiting Tom
  • ●Pamela Redmond Satran (Madison) - The Possibility of You
  • ●Anthony Shadid (Madison) - House of Stone: A Saga of Home, Family and a Lost Middle East
  • ●Patrick Sommerville (Green Bay/Madison) - This Bright River
  • ●Andrea Thalasinos (Madison) - An Echo Through the Snow

The 2013 Outstanding Achievement in Poetry awards for 2012 titles include the following 5 titles by Wisconsin authors:

  • ●John Koethe (Milwaukee) - ROTC Kills
  • ●Laurel Mills (Neenah) - Rumors of Hope
  • ●James Pollock (Madison) - Sailing to Babylon
  • ●Andrea Potos (Madison) - We Lit the Lamp Ourselves
  • ●Margaret Rozga (Waukesha) - Though I Haven’t Been to Baghdad

For more information about the work of the Literary Awards Committee, visit http://wla.wisconsinlibraries.org/read/awards.

2013 Children's Book Awards

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

2013 Children's Book Awards Selections

Zayde Comes to Live written by Sheri Sinykin and illustrated by Kristina Swarner wins 2013 Burr/Worzalla Award

Children’s picture book Zayde Comes to Live written by Sheri Sinykin, formally of Madison, Wisconsin, illustrated by Kristina Swarner and published by Peachtree Publishers, has won the 2013 Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award. The Children’s Book Award Committee of the Wisconsin Library Association’s Youth Services Section annually awards the Burr/Worzalla to the most distinguished work in literature and/or illustrated by a Wisconsin book creator.

In Zayde Comes to Live, Rachel’s beloved grandfather, Zayde, comes to spend his last days with her family. Rachel worries what will happen when he dies, especially after her friends tell her the Christian and Muslim beliefs about the afterlife.

The Children’s Book Award Committee also named Peter and Connie Roop Notable Wisconsin Authors/Illustrators for their contribution to the world of children’s literature.

Seven noteworthy titles have also been selected for Outstanding Achievement in Children’s Literature, written and/or illustrated by Wisconsin book creators:

Little Dog Lost by Marion Dane Bauer

Marching to the Mountaintop by Ann Bausum

The Raft by S.A. Bodeen

The Obsidian Blade by Pete Hautman

Penny and Her Song by Kevin Henkes

Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Louge

Rabbit’s Snow Dance by Jeff Newman

The Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award is made possible by the Worzalla Publishing Company, Stevens Point, through a grant to the WLA Foundation.

The 2013 Book Award Committee members consist of Ruhama Kordatzky Bahr, Chair, Burlington; Jennifer Bahnaman, McMillian Memorial Library; Jean Elvekrog, retired, Madison; Karli Pederson, Milwaukee Public Library; Jeni Schomber, Beloit Public Library; Dawn Wacek, Rice Lake Public Library; Arin Wilken, Mondovi Public Library.