Intellectual Freedom Award

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Award Criteria and Nominations

Since 2010, WLA and the Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association (WEMTA) have collaborated to give the annual intellectual freedom award formerly sponsored by SIRS/Proquest.

This award recognizes the contribution of an individual or group who has actively promoted intellectual freedom in Wisconsin. Recipients are selected by a joint WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award Committee.

The award is given based on the following criteria:

  • Role in actively promoting intellectual freedom in their sphere of influence and beyond
  • Degree to which an individual or group exemplifies the spirit of intellectual freedom; and
  • Efforts to promote intellectual freedom and challenge censorship.

For more information about the award please see the application information or contact the chair of the WLA Intellectual Freedom Roundtable.  (Application Deadline: January 15, 2015)

Since 2010, funding for the award has been generously provided by and the Center for Information Policy Research and the School of Information Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Previous WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award Recipients (formerly the WLA SIRS/Proquest Award)

2015:  Marti Koller, English Department Chair, Baldwin-Woodville High School

2014:  Megan Schliesman, Cooperative Children's Book Center, UW- Madison School of Education

2013:  Appleton Area School District and School Board for Retaining The Body of Christopher Creed in the Curriculum

2011: Belleville School District Parents and Students Defending Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes

2010: Dr. Robert W. Smiley, Director of Technology, Waunakee Area School District

2009: Staff and friends of the West Bend Public Library

2007: Helen Adams, retired media specialist, author, advocate

2006: Dee J. Hall, reporter, Wisconsin State Journal, Madison, WI

2003: United States Senator Russell Feingold, Middleton, WI

2001: Irene Cooley, Media Specialist, Barron Senior High School, Barron, WI

2000: Dianne McAfee Hopkins, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI

1999: Carolyn Winters Folke, Former Director, Bureau for Instructional Media & Technolgy, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

1998: Dr. Nicholas J. Karolides, Chalmer Davee Library, River Falls, WI

1996: Ginny Moore Kruse, Director, Cooperative Children's Book Center, Madison, WI

1995: Hales Corners Public Library, Hales Corners, WI