Awards & Honors

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Citation of Merit
Conferred upon Wisconsin citizens who are neither librarians nor library trustees, who have made outstanding contributions to quality library services. This award may be given to a group of people or an individual. 

Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award and Children's Book Awards
The Children's Book Awards Committee of the WLA Youth Services Section selects outstanding books for youth by Wisconsin-connected authors: the Elizabeth Burr/Worzalla Award, Outstanding Books of the Year, and Notable Wisconsin Authors/Illustrators.

Library of the Year Award
Presented to any type of Wisconsin library, library system or library network for distinguished achievement in service. The staff, library board or administering body, and the community or people served shall all be involved in the work for which recognition is sought.

Literary Awards
The Literary Awards Committee of the Readers' Section selects outstanding books by Wisconsin-connected authors: the WLA Literary Award, Outstanding Books of the Year, and Notable Wisconsin Authors.

Muriel Fuller Award
Conferred upon a library professional or paraprofessional in recognition of outstanding accomplishments which have significantly improved and benefited library services.

Programming Innovation Award
Presented in recognition of programming leadership in providing innovative and excellent library programming in Wisconsin libraries. Nominated programs may be stand-alone programs, series, passive or cooperative. Programs for all age groups are eligible.

Special Service Award
Presented to a group of people or an individual for noteworthy achievement as evidenced by substantial activities and exceptional service to the library profession. The Wisconsin recipient or recipients shall have influence and reputation beyond the local community.

SSCS Paralibrarian Award
The Wisconsin Library Association’s Support Staff and Circulation Services (SSCS) Paralibrarian of the Year Award recognizes the essential role of paralibrarians, including all library support staff who do not currently have an MLIS, in providing excellent library service in Wisconsin. This award places special emphasis on efforts to further the role of paralibrarians and library support staff in the library profession.

Trustee of the Year Award
Conferred upon an outstanding Wisconsin library trustee. The trustee must be in actual service during all or part of the year in which he or she is honored.

WAAL Information Literacy Award
Presented to an individual or group activity that promotes effective instruction, learning and/or collaboration relating to the WAAL information literacy competencies.

Wisconsin Distinguished Document Award 
Presented to an excellent Wisconsin state or local government document that contributes significantly to the expansion of knowledge and the understanding of government agencies, among other criteria.

WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year Award
In recognition of a librarian's outstanding leadership and accomplishment in library service. The librarian must be currently employed, at the time of selection, in any field of librarianship in Wisconsin and must be a current member of the WLA. 

WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award 
Administered by the WLA/WEMTA Intellectual Freedom Award Committee, with funding from and the Center for Information Policy Research and the School of Information Studies, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Recognizes the contribution of an individual or group who has actively promoted intellectual freedom in Wisconsin.



Wisconsin Library Association Foundation