2012 Award Winners

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Library of the Year: David A. Cofrin Library, UW-Green Bay

Paula Ganyard, Library Director, and her staff have improved the user experience by using technology and a customer service ethic to support research and learning. Their improved marketing efforts have increased library usage and engagement of the students, staff and faculty. In addition to all these activities, the staff has worked to improve involvement in the Green Bay community, fundraising, collections, staff development opportunities, and the physical facilities. Ganyard and the library staff have worked hard to make sure the library is not only the physical center of the campus, but the heart of the university, as well.



WLA/Demco Librarian of the Year: Stephen Proces

Stephen Proces, Director, oversaw the Neenah Public Library building project twelve years ago and has continued “building” the library into a premier destination in the Fox Cities for programming and collections that appeal to all ages, boasting an annual circulation today of nearly 1 million items. Steve is highly respected by his staff and community leaders for his service innovations, as well as his generosity in mentoring younger librarians and creating a working environment where staff is free to grow and experiment with new programs and services.

Trustee of the Year: James Backus

Having served for 11 years on the Wisconsin Valley Library Service board, more than 5 on the WLA’s Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends (WLTF) board, as well other library-related volunteer positions, Jim Backus exemplifies excellence. He advocates for strong board leadership and helps other trustees develop the knowledge needed to serve effectively.


Special Service Award: Anthony Driessen

Tony Driessen serves WLA as a hired governmental affairs consultant but much of his work for libraries is pro bono. He receives the special service award because of his broad knowledge of and concern for libraries, his great familiarity with education concerns and political issues, his principled approach to government decision-making and advocacy, and his collaborative nature.


Citation of Merit: Dr. Lelan McLemore

Though Dr. McLemore is not a librarian, his nomination supporters say, “…the library has been his great passion, and he has succeeded in creating a library populated with an excellent staff, state of the art library resources, and students and faculty that consider the Todd Wehr Memorial Library the center of academic life on campus.”